24 Hours in Critical Care

From the wonderful poet, teacher and friend Aoife Mannix – all our hopes, prayers and love are with you xxx

Living As An Alien

IMG_0089

I was due a mastectomy yesterday but had an anaphylactic shock to the dye they used with the anaesthetic so now it’s been rescheduled for Tuesday.

NHS

The surgeon’s letter describes me as pleasant
which make me laugh because the word
jars so much with the situation,
because shouldn’t I be why me, is there a God,
furious and resentful. But I’m not.
I’m very polite and smiley and thank you so much
and this is not an act because deep down,
I am profoundly, eternally grateful
to these strangers who are saving my life.

View original post

Leave a Reply

